How can ACT help prevent prejudice and racism?

an ACT Pioneers online event

with JoAnne Dahl

RESCHEDULED DUE TO SERVER OUTAGE TO:
CEST 7am, 10 AUGUST | AEST 3pm, 10 AUGUST | NZST 5pm, 10 AUGUST
PREVIOUSLY: CEST 7am, 20 JULY | AEST 3pm, 20 JULY | NZST 5pm, 20 JULY
Use this link to check this time in your timezone.
A replay of the event will be available in your replay area the day after the event with no set expiry date.



JoAnne Dahl, PhD is a Professor of Psychology at the Uppsala University, Sweden.

As an American who lives and works in
 Sweden, I am constantly looking at life from different perspectives.

My
 mission is to be useful to people who suffer. In order, to do that I
 need to seriously take on and be willing to feel that suffering.

During 
the 35 years I have been working as a clinical researcher I am proud of
 having contributed to helping people with chronic constipation, people
 with epileptic seizures in the developing nations who have no access to
 medication, children with asthma, chronic pain sufferers and people 
struggling with excess weight.

I work together with groups of innovative young clinical researchers.


Feel free to take a few minutes and look at some of these projects on my web site here.
JoAnne Dahl PhD Professor
Department of Psychology
Uppsala University, Uppsala Sweden
Licensed Psychologist, Psychotherapist
Peer Reviewed ACT trainer
ACBS Fellow

joannedahl@me.com

About this event

There is significant evidence that health care providers hold stereotypes based on race, class sex and other characteristics that, in fact, influence interpretations of behaviours, symptoms as well as clinical decisions and treatment. Health care workers are often unaware of these stereotypes or stigma which they carry. There is also evidence to show that heath care providers interact less effectively with clients from minority groups than with those from similar class, culture and race. So far, most programs for dealing with this problem have been to focus on improving health care providers with cross-cultural communication skills which have had only limited effects on these mostly unaware stigma that result in stereotyped conceptualisation and resulting action. The aim of the research we are presently doing is to investigate the effects of an intervention focused on perspective taking skills based on Relational Frame Theory.

This webinar will help participants prevent own and others prejudice in three steps:

1) Awareness and Acceptance: ability to observe own and others reactions in terms of

* Physical reactions (discriminating sympathetic arousal from mental interpretations)
* Prejudice (Fundamental Attribution Error, ability to see thoughts as arbitrary associations)
* Feelings: Seeing common denominator of ‘threat’

Ability to create acceptance (exposure) when relating to own and others reactions as opposed to attempts at controlling these reactions.

2) Perspective taking of self and others: Ability to identify ‘likeness’ prevents stereotyping

* Visual rotation: seeing physical objects and yourself through the eyes of the ‘other’
* Cognitive rotation: While seeing yourself through the eyes of the ‘other’ what do you guess he/she might have for prejudice about you?
* Emotional rotation: identify a situation in your life where you have acted in a similar manner as the ‘other’ is not acting. What did you feel then? What might the ‘other’ be feeling now?

3) Prosocial Action: Based on ‘likeness’ identify the needs of the ‘other’ , evaluate.

* Create a pro social action based on the perceived needs of the ‘other’
* Evaluate the effects of your prosocial action (was it useful to the other).
* If not, redo this procedure.

The webinar will include a presentation of the theory of human connectedness which underlies this model along with suitable ways to measure levels of stigma. Exercises will be practiced during the webinar and written exercises sent to each participant. There will be time for the participants to ask questions and get feedback.

JoAnne Dahl, PhD is a Professor of Psychology at the Uppsala University, Sweden.

Seats are limited!

Coming up next in the ACT Pioneers series:

* Robyn Walser, PhD presenting: ACT as Process: Bridging the Gap between Conceptual Understanding and Process in Practical Application
RESCHEDULED: PDT 5pm, 13 SEPTEMBER | AEST 10am, 14 SEPTEMBER | NZST 12pm, 14 SEPTEMBER
PREVIOUSLY: PDT 5pm, 26 JULY | AEST 10am, 27 JULY | NZST 12pm, 27 JULY
Use this link to check this time in your timezone.
A replay of the event will be available for 2 weeks after publishing.

Your host: ANZACBS President, Dr Paul Atkins.

Want to hear about future events too? Sign up to the ANZACBS Online mailing list below.

First Name
*
Enter your First Name here
This question is required
Last Name
Enter your Last Name here
Your Wish List for future online events...
Let us know who or what else you'd like us to arrange online to support your professional journey. If you are unable to submit this form scroll up to check that you have completed the two mandatory fields marked with a *
Subscribe

This event brought to you by the Australia & New Zealand Chapter of the Association for Contextual Behavioral Science. You can find our Chapter page on the ACBS website here. Feel free to join if you haven't already!

Visit the ANZACBS website here. Our next conference is in Perth, Australia, October 2017.



Powered by Paperform